Removal of multiple characters with in double quotes

For one of my need I was going through post "Removal of new line character in double quotes"

Which alister has replied like

$ cat data
"leave me alone"

"ABCD RENT-A-
CAR XYZ LTD","00N0H","Enterprise Lake","
100 View Way"
$ sed -n 'H;g;/^[^"]*"[^"]*\("[^"]*"[^"]*\)*$/d; s/^\n//; y/\n/ /; p; s/.*//; h' data
"leave me alone"

"ABCD RENT-A- CAR XYZ LTD","00N0H","Enterprise Lake"," 100 View Way"

In my case requirement is to remove new line character as well as pipe (|) character when it is present inside double quotes. So for that how to enhance this code snippet. I am new to to this area and unable to under stand how mentioned code snippet work. Thanks for any help.

Hello Jag_1981,

If your Input_file is same as shown sample then following may help you in same too.

awk '{printf("%s%s",$0~/^"/?(FNR==1?"":RS):FS,$0)} END{print ""}'  Input_file

Thanks,
R. Singh

You say that your requirement is to remove <newline> and <vertical-bar> characters found in double-quotes, but the sample data you have provided doesn't contain any <vertical-bar> characters (either inside or outside) pairs of double-quotes.

If you can't provide representative sample input data and the sample output that you want to produce from that input (in CODE tags), it makes it hard for us to know whether or not we are on the right track when making suggestions that might work for you.

It is also a very good idea to tell us what operating system and shell you're using whenever you start a new thread in this forum. Although the standard utilities perform the same basic operations, many utilities have additional features on some operating systems. If we know what operating system and shell you're using, we can limit our suggestions for you to things that will work in your environment.