Red Hat or CentOS CMD

Hello,
I'm a Solaris Admin by trade and we are getting more Linux server in. I was wondering what command Red Hat uses for hardware faults?

lets say you see the fault light on the server what command do you use to see what the fault is?

for example the Solaris command is fmadm faulty. this commands gives info on fan speeds and other low level faults.

Any help would be great.

Depends on the hardware. HP, for example, has a suite of command line utilities that interface with the iLO and can query the hardware status. Likewise for Dell servers.

it is a Sun x86 Blade. I tried the Solaris command but it will not work in Red Hat.

Thanks for your help

As was pointed out, this is a problem for your hardware vendor. This is not a Linux issue.

Everyone,
Well I did some checking and it seams that RHEL doesn't have a built in feature that will check for hardware faults like Solaris does. I was just trying to get better with my RHEL skills. I already knew how to get to the fault information from the lights out manager.

---------- Post updated at 04:42 PM ---------- Previous update was at 04:18 PM ----------

I have found the answer. I posted the same question here this is the answer I got.

Red Hat or CentOS CMD - Linux / UNIX Forum

The command is dmesg

Ok, this might come off a bit harsh, and I want to apologize in advance: Did you even really read the above answers, or did you just skim them without any attempt at making sense of them??? Of course the Solaris command won't work in Linux, because it's a Solaris command. There is no general command to check for hardware failures in Linux, because that's the hardware vendors job!! And the dmesg command won't give you any information on fan status and whatnot, as it can only report the errors the kernel sees. And without kernel modules provided by the hardware vendor it won't even know it has a fan that could fail!