Reading data into muti-dimentional array - in perl

Just want to learn how these are read into array but I don't seem to get it right what do I go wrong?
Below is the sample

Thanks

input

1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8
9 1 2 3
4 5 6 7

#!/usr/bin/perl

open (InFILE,"input");

while (<InFILE>) {

@ar = split ;

$arref = \@ar;

push(@multiarray,$arref);

}

for ($i=0;$i<=4;$i++){
for ($j=0;$j<=4;$j++){

print " $multiarray[$i][$j] ";
}

I don't really know why you put your program like this as it seems really awkward, but this seems like this may do you want:

Output:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Hint: the "my" is crucial here --- you have made your program unnecessarily complex that you have actually set for yourself a subtle trap without your realizing it that is tedious to locate. Why "my" is needed here is left for your exploration to encourage you to find out the answer yourself.

cbkihong,

Thanks it did work. I am very new to perl and I am trying to understand how multi-dimentiona array is read in.
Interesting about "my" I will investigate further!
Zap

what you might want to take a look at is:

Learning Perl Objects, References & Modules.
5.2. Viewing Complex Data with Data :: Dumper

I used data dumper on your script above and this is what i get.

$VAR1 = [
          '1',
          '2',
          '3',
          '4'
        ];
$VAR1 = [
          '5',
          '6',
          '7',
          '8'
        ];
$VAR1 = [
          '9',
          '1',
          '2',
          '3'
        ];
$VAR1 = [
          '4',
          '5',
          '6',
          '7'
        ];

i think i know what your asking and if that is the case this is what is happening.

LINE: 1 )while (<InFILE> ) {
LINE: 2 )
LINE: 3 )@ar = split ;
LINE: 4 )
LINE: 5 )$arref = \@ar;
LINE: 6 )
LINE: 7 )push(@multiarray,$arref);

line 1 says read each line in the file.
line 3 says for each space add a new element to @ar for each items read in $_. (IE: for the first line read in @ar=qw(1 2 3 4):wink: