Read line and save fields as variables

Hej guys,
I am trying to read a csv file line by line, save it's fields as variables per line so I can use them as parameters and execute stuff.
I am new to shell scripting and was just strictly following a tutorial. Somehow my version seems to ignore the loop. Any help?

TY! :slight_smile:

#!/bin/bash
echo " I AM OUTSIDE THE LOOP"

infile="./calls.txt"

while IFS=',' read -r f1 f2
do
        echo " I AM INSIDE THE LOOP"

foo=$f1
        bar=$f2

#many program calls here

done < "$infile"

Execution is:

I AM OUTSIDE THE LOOP

What's inside ./calls.txt ? An empty file would just skip the loop.

does 'calls.txt' reside in the SAME directory your script is at? [hint: ./calls.txt]
How do you cal you script?
What's the content of 'calls.txt'? Could you share a snippet using code tags, please.

calls.txt is CSV file like:

foo1,bar1
foo2,bar2
foo3,bar3

where foo/bar are integers, strings or paths/to/things

I call the .sh with:

./HiCoPi.sh

And yes, calls.txt and the HiCoPi.sh are in the same folder

Strange, I get the desired out:

I AM OUTSIDE THE LOOP
 I AM INSIDE THE LOOP
 I AM INSIDE THE LOOP
 I AM INSIDE THE LOOP

Could you post the output of cat -vet ./calls.txt using the code tags.

Maybe one of the commands in the loop tries to read from stdin? Then it reads from the loop's input; for example ssh does it; workaround is ssh -n ...
An extra descriptor can harden the while loop

while IFS=',' read -r f1 f2 <&3
do
done 3< "$infile"
1 Like

thanks so far for your replies. I kind of have the feeling too that it is somehow related to the calls.txt
I thought the minimal example would do the job, but let's give you a more real copy of what I have done:

my.sh :

#!/bin/bash

infile="calls.txt"

while IFS=',' read -r f1 f2 f3 f4 f5 f6 f7 f8 f9 f10 f11 f12 f13 f14 f15 f16 f17 f18 f19
do

my_file1=$f1
        species1=$f2
        chrom1=$f3
        my_file2=$f4
        species2=$f5
        chrom2=$f6
        binSize=$f7