quick question

Hi,

At best I'm a junior admin with a big problem.
My developers have got my root password and mgmt insists they need it.

I can't even change it when people knowing it leave.

I'm certain they've hardcoded it into routines. I've searched my servers and grepped everything & can't find it.

I think I know what's going on and now I'll get to the point.

I inserted the date command into the .profile script, redirecting the output to a log. I followed that with a who, also directed to the log.

The .profile is executed multiple times per night, but the who command isn't producing any output. I've checked and when ftp'ing into a box, I don't appear via a who.

I think they've got root's password hardcoded into ftp routines on remote boxes.

I've searched and there was a post, by ytakbob, 9/28/2006, titled FTP Server Log. I read it and all the reply's I found and it didn't appear to have been answered.
I'm also in an AIX 5.2 environment.

Can I post the same question? Or, was there a reply posted that I haven't found that suggests a way to track/log ftp's comnig into my server?

I'm not going to be able to do anything unless I can prove they've got my password hardcoded into routines.

Just as an FYI, I know how to get around they're perceived 'need' for root access, but mgmt is resolved to follow through on this long-gone consultants plan.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you might be able to offer.

Please post questions to an appropriate forum. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators, where you posted your question, has a description that reads "Make Suggestions About Forums, Features, or Content here. Discuss Rules and Guidelines. Get Forum Support Here. (Registered Users Only)". You're not doing anything like that in this thread. I have moved this thread to the AIX forum.