Question about background processes

Hi!

First of all, let me warn you I'm quite new to the world of LINUX and Operating Systems understanding, so that's why I pose these newbie and stupid qustions...

Anyway, I'm trying to build my own simple shell in C and I'm getting some problems in implementing the background process ('&') functionality.

The parsing of the input command is taken care of, the thing is, when forking a new process after a previous forking of a background process, the new child process shows a parent PID as the PID of that background process and not the PID of the shell process...

I think the problem resides in the fact that i actually DON'T KNOW what a background process really is... I just tell a background process from a 'normal' one by not calling/ calling the wait() system call:

int main(void)
{

(...)

while (! done) {   

(...)

int pid;

pid = fork();				

if(pid == 0){
			execvp(path, elmntpointer);		

}else if(pid > 0){
			if(command->background)
				printf("%d Child Process Done\n", pid);
			else{
				wait(NULL);
			}

exit(0);
		}else{
			fprintf(stderr,"Fork Failed\n");
			printf("Fork Failed\n");
			exit(-1);
		}	
	    }
	}

if(line)
	    free(line);
    }
    return 0;
}

I also get some problems with the exit() system call... When I call it, the process that is terminated is the one of the shell!

Can you help me with something here?

Thanks!
Damiao

Unix Daemon Server Programming

Looks to me you're doing quite fine...

I don't see how that's happening in the code below. But there is a bug...

Pretty much you have it right. The confusion may be what fork() does. fork() clones the process; the new process has a pid of 0. You do not (normally) want to exit() after a fork() call. The exception is when exec() fails in the new process.