Python call to bash script returns empty string

Hi all,

I need help figuring out why my script won't work when envoked from web interface. First off, I'm fairly new to Linux and Shell scripting so, my apologies for being ignorant!

So I have a python script that I envoke through a web interface. This script envokes my shell script and then the shell script returns values to my python script using subprocess. this generally works when tested from the command line but fails or returns empty string when called from the interface. Please see my python script code below and then my shell script below it.

Python code: function envokes shell script passing args to it and returns results back to interface.

#! /usr/bin/env python

import subprocess
import sys

def PDFGenerator(args=''):
    if args:
       proc = subprocess.Popen(['bash PDFGenerator.sh '+str(args)], stdout=subprocess.PIPE, shell = True)
       #return str(proc.communicate())
       print proc.stdout.read()

============================================

#Shell script: calls a java file which returns value into args variable which is then echoed back.
#I've even tried putting in just echo "hello world" and returns empty to interface.

args=$(java Test $@ | tail -1)
echo $args

java is probably not in your PATH. You also need to worry about CLASSPATH and such. A web interface is not going to give you the same environment variables a login shell does.

1 Like

Even if I remove the java call and just replace it for some hard-coded value in my bash script, my python script still returns empty string.

for example I commented the java call line and just left this line as such and i still get ('', None) for the result?

echo $@

---------- Post updated 05-15-12 at 08:29 AM ---------- Previous update was 05-14-12 at 02:01 PM ----------

Anybody knows what's going on here? Thanks!

---------- Post updated at 08:30 AM ---------- Previous update was at 08:29 AM ----------

Can someone help with this?