Problem with read line

Hi everybody, I am new to shell script. Please help me with this problem.
I have a file test.txt with the content like this:

I have a shell script test.sh like this

#!/bin/sh 

while read line
do    
    echo $line >> out.txt
done < test.txt

out.txt is expected to have the same content with test.txt. But here is the output.txt

laconfirm remote1 test.sh test.txt are files in the same folder.
It replaces the * in the original text.txt

Would you please tell me what is my problem and how I can fix it?
Thanks in advance.

echo "$line"

the best way to make an exact reproduction is like this:

while IFS= read -r line
do 
  printf "%s\n" "$line"
done < infile > out.txt
1 Like

You save me! Many thanks :slight_smile:

Wouldn't your code add an empty line at the end of the out.txt even if infile doesn't have one ?

Good question. No it would not add an empty line. An empty line would mean 2 consecutive linefeed characters. Or do you mean add a linefeed character if it isn't there? If a file does not have a linefeed at the last line then it isn't terminated and that line would then not be read by the read statement.

1 Like

yes i meant that ...

Ah ok, thanks a lot for the explanations, i will sleep a bit less ignorant tonight ;)...

Without quote

echo "$line"

Why does it read all files in that directories?
Or why does it print those extra lines without quote?

It is because the * gets interpreted and expanded by the shell to the content of the current directory. Just go into a directory and issue:

var=*
echo $var

If you put quotes around $var, you just get the asterisk

2 Likes

Pin point answer.
Thank you.

Hi, another question.
Is there any posibility that this error only happens in some versions of the operation system?
I received that script from a friend of mine, and he said that there were no such error in his computer. I am using Ubuntu 10, and he is using Ubuntu 9.