Problem creating graph with gnuplot with time on x-axis

Let me start by saying I'm new to gnuplot and not very good at unix at all..

Anyway, I'm each minute measuring temperature and humidity and saves the last 60 readings along with time in a textfile, values_minute.

The contents of the file is formatted like this: time temperature humidity

14:10 22.8 19.1
14:11 22.8 19.1
14:12 22.8 19.1
14:13 22.8 19.0
14:14 22.8 19.0
14:15 22.8 19.0
14:16 22.8 19.0
etc...

I'm trying to create a graph using gnuplot, working with the shell first. Later I will do it with a script that will run once a minute to generate a "realtime" graph to be publish on a web site.

gnuplot
set terminal png
set output "graph_realtime.png"
set yrange [10:50]
plot "./values_minute" using 1:2 title 'Temperature' with lines; \
"./values_minute" using 1:3 title 'Humidity' with lines

But I'm given the error "invalid command". I'm quite frankly lost.

; means 'end of statement', if you want to put another line on your graph after it you should use ,

I just realised the code I posted was incomplete. Since the x axis is time gnuplot has to be told so.

So the final code looks like this:

gnuplot
set terminal png
set output "graph_realtime.png"
set timefmt "%H:%M"
plot "./values_minute" using 1:2 title 'Temperature' with lines, \
"./values_minute" using 1:3 title 'Humidity' with lines

This works without giving an error message, but all the values is located at the extreme ends of the graph.

Added

set xdata time

which helped. But now I need to make the x axis easily readable, maybe tics every 15 minutes.

Added

set xtics "14:00", 900, "16:00"

which help but it's still showing the time as hours:minutes:seconds, how to only show it as hours:minutes? And does it exist an easy way to replace (in my example) 14:00 and 16:00 with proper values, i.e. if it was measured from 09:05 to 10:04 the first tic (excluding the edges of the graph) would be at 09:15, the last at at 10:00? I guess it's similar to