Printer delay before final form feed

Hi,

I am new to printing with Unix (AIX on HP).

I am printing from a COBOL program.

On our test system the page prints and does a Form Feed to the next page. This is good.

When I release the program to our customer it prints the page but waits 5 or more seconds before doing a page throw. They say the the final FF delay is unacceptable.

Any ideas where to start? I have experimented with SEQUENTIAL and LINE SEQUENTIAL files but I feel that it is a configuration issue (BSD queue).

Name of queue qrintronix
ACTIVATE the queue? yes +
Queuing DISCIPLINE first come first serve +
ACCOUNTING FILE pathname [FALSE] /
HOSTNAME of remote server [printronix]
Name of QUEUE on remote server [d1prn]
Pathname of the SHORT FORM FILTER for queue [/usr/lib/lpd/bsdshort] +/
status output
Pathname of the LONG FORM FILTER for queue [/usr/lib/lpd/bsdlong] +/
status output

Regards,
Andrew

Have you tried adding a form feed just before closing the print file. Test if doing this will cause the printer to immediately do a form feed, and then not add its own form feed when it (the printer) finally realizes there is no more data coming and goes to top of form.

Thanks for that. I just tried it (WRITE NOTE-PRN-REC BEFORE ADVANCING PAGE) and it gives me the required form feed immediately - but then it throws another (unwanted) page...

Regards,
Andrew

Are you printing one page at a time (invoice/packing slip/etc)? Is there a tear off function on the printer? If you tear off the printed form, and press the top of form button on the printer, does the printer suck the unprinted form back so that no forms are actually wasted. And is this behavior different than the test printer that you used?

Jack

Hi Jack,