Pressing Enter (bash)

Hey, I'm writing this BASH script, I recently started learning BASH after I did Java and I'm pretty new to the syntax.

Anways, what I want to do is simple, I coudn't find the right information though:

Let's say I make a :

read -p "Press ENTER to go back to menu" choice

What is the command that would let me perform this? I need to way for the User to press ENTER, not a silly Y/N. (It's for general accomplishment actually haha).

-Yakuzan

P.S : Example much appreciated!

Try this:
echo -n "Press Enter: "; read MyVar; echo $MyVar

$MyVar will be whatever you type, but just hitting enter will print nothing

Your code will work as is.

The script will wait until the user presses ENTER. You might add an -s option to prevent any other characters being echoed to the screen, and you don't need a variable name since you aren't going to check it:

read -sp "Press ENTER to go back to menu"
echo "Thank you!"

Wasn't sure if Yakuzan needed to take in a Menu Choice or not...

I was assuming that was the point. Take in choice if given, else just do nothing.

You are correct though either way Yakuzan's original code will work as is and will even store the response in choice if needed.

Il use this thread to ask most of my questions since my Linux book blows. It only covers basic BASH since it's not a BASH guide.

And since my openSUSE doesn't have internet on it I'm stuck going from one system to another.

Btw, to understand my concept:

1- Show date
2- Move a folder
3- See current location

That is the menu which is a script called ./menu
If the script reads 1 then you get shoot to ./date
Then I ask to press enter to show back the menu(Thanks a lot :D)
Then back to ./menu

Excetera, each number has it's own script.

As to todays question:

Is there a way to force the user to press enter and nothing else? Does it require an if statement? I saw you mention -s, what exactly do you mean?