PHP function kills my code?

So I'm making a page for one of my web sites that scans the visitors ports (just a few specific ones, not ALL) and tells them if they have any open. Now I made up the code and it worked great. Now instead of having the same chunk of code all over my script, I tried to make my own subroutine so I could just call it from all over. But since I did that, it now gives me an error of type 0, which means it couldn't even try to connect to the host, before it got an error. I can't figure it out at all?

Here's my code

<? function sniff( $portnumber ) {
 		if (! $sock = fsockopen($REMOTE_ADDR, $portnumber, $errno, $errstr, 7) )
 			{
  			if ($errno == 60)
  				{
  				echo "Timeout";
  				}
  				else 
  				{
  				echo "Closed $errno";
 				}
			}
			else
			{
  			echo "<font color=#ff3300>Open</font>";
  			fclose($sock);
  			}
  	} ?>

And here is how I call the function...

<? sniff(22); ?>

I'm new to writing php's, but I don't think I have any syntax problems?

OK, I am very much a beginer at PHP. It appears to work fine if you add quotes around the first argument (maybe because the fsockopen's first argument is a string? (anybody?)). Also slightly modifed your syntax. See below. On my PC, the output was: "Closed 9 " when trying port 22, but trying port 80, the output was "Open"

<? function sniff( $portnumber ) {
	$REMOTE_ADDR="localhost";
	$sock = fsockopen("$REMOTE_ADDR", $portnumber, $errno, $errstr, 80);
         if (!$sock)
             {
              if ($errno == 60)
                  {
                  echo "Timeout";
                  }
              else 
                  {
                  echo "Closed $errno";
                 }
            }
            else
            {
              fclose($sock);
            }
      } ?>

<? sniff(22); ?>