Perl - Programmers manual online?

I have never programmed in Perl (insert laughter, mock, etc. here ____) - so I need a sort of "Programming in Perl" covering the basics.
I now have two Perl books, one is a 5 volume Unix resource kit, the other is "Mastering algorithms with Perl" - none of them explains how to produce "hello, World" in the arguably weirdest language ... hmm .... no ...

So, as soon as get a tutorial that helps me take the first two steps, I have material enough to write practually anything in Perl.

A 100 page thingy should be enough, a reference manual perfectly adequate (I am a programmer, after all).

Any suggestions? I know that it is possible to write 'Perl' and press [Search], but I think I need an intelligent answer :slight_smile:

Atle

This page might help your request.

http://www.programmingtutorials.com/tutorial.asp?id=Perl

Thanks! That was ideal.
Now, I have no excuses more not learn this .. eh .. language :slight_smile:

A couple of years back, it was all about Tk/TCL, but now it seems Perl has taken over completely.

Atle

There are now six usefull und nice articles for beginners at:

(I myself have started again with perl [after nine years]:wink:

Thanks! This one looks really pro, starts off with control structure, whereas the others conventrated on data.

I am now already able to produce CGI scripts and stuff that I would have used Java for just two days ago.
You Perl hackers must think there is little justice in the fact that I got the 5 volume "Perl Resource Kit" containing Perl Module Reference, 1 & 2, Perl Utilities Guide and Perl Journal and CDROM for Xmas! I will now have to show that I was worth it, so I'll see you at CPAN :slight_smile:

Atle

Just go there an start with Part 1. You will see there the URLs I mean.
:wink:

I've already had a look around, and this is a great site.
You put me into section 6, I think ... the whole thing is now firmly placed in my bookmarks :slight_smile:

Atle