Parsing Strings

Hello All,

I am new to shell scripting and programming. I am looking for a guide on how I can parse specific information from a plain text file with thousands of lines. Specifically I need to parse an email address from each line. The line looks something like this:

1272574001.H742765P10724.host.domain.com,S=4155:Return-path: <hbelanger@kpmg.com>

I would like to extract the email address (exluding the < and >) and then perform an update statement via mysql with the email address as a value.

Is there an example of this somewhere that I could use to base my needs off of?

What scripting tool would I use, how do I tell that tool to gab all contents BETWEEN the < and >?

How do I then (within one script) use this value to update a DB record?

p.s. I am essentially trying to unsubscribe these email addresses from a contact database..

Thanks for the help.
John

---------- Post updated at 01:19 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:15 PM ----------

The SQL statement that needs to be run is:

UPDATE contact_master SET subscribed='No' WHERE email=<value>

Perhaps this would work to extract all the email addresses...

awk -F">" '/@/{print $1}' RS="<" file

(use nawk or /usr/xpg4/bin/awk if your OS is Solaris)

You can then pipe this output into a while read loop and run the SQL statements inside the loop..

That worked like a charm. I have looked up your syntax and now understand how that works. I will now research how to use a while loop. Would you recommend a bash script?

It could be done in awk, but I would use bash or another shell for this, I think it looks cleaner.

1 Like

I edited my response. It was a typo. It was meant to say 'I will now research'

After reading on bash I can accomplish my mysql execution using a defined variable (variable = email address) but am not sure how to read a file and have the mysql execute the statement for each line (i.e. email) value.

#!/bin/sh

email="test@test.com"
table="contact_master"
column="subscribed"