Parsing a linux file and formatting it.

Hi, I have a linux file that has data like this..

REQUEST_ID|text^Ctext^Ctext^C
REQUEST_ID|text^Ctext^C
REQUEST_ID|
REQUEST_ID|
REQUEST_ID|text^Ctext^Ctext^Ctext^Ctext^Ctext^C....

Where ever I see a ^C character, I need to copy the corresponding REQUEST_ID and that part of the text to a new line. so my destination file should look like this..

REQUEST_ID|text
REQUEST_ID|text
REQUEST_ID|text

How should I do this? I have no idea how to do this because I have no knowledge in unix or linux so far..

---------- Post updated at 01:50 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:49 AM ----------

hi, please someone post reply. I need help quickly. I guess it could be done using sed or awk. but no idea how to do. Please let me know how this could be done using sed or awk

Narrative: Get rid of empty lines, remove any trailing ^C, branch conditionally to next line to clear t flag, substitute to make a leading line of the request id and first text, replacing the request id on the second line before the second text. If that substitute fired, print the first line, remove it from the buffer and try the substitute again. If not, branch to end, which prints the buffer.

sed '
  /|$/d
  s/^C$//
  t n
  :n
  s/^\(\([^|]*|\)[^^C]*\)^C/\1\
\2/
  t p
  b
  :p
  P
  s/.*\n//
  t n
 '

hi, thanks for the reply, actually, i did not understand the full command. I am sorry!
But i tried to give this command on the command line.. it did not work. I would appreciate in your further help in better understand this before doing, so that I can do it correctly.
Please correct me if i am wrong some where.

"sed '/|$/d" this is for removing empty lines (i was thinking sed '/^$/d')

"s/^C$//" this is for removing trailing control C s.

I did not understand the rest of the command
"s/^\(\([^|]*|\)[^^C]*\)^C/\1\"

While typing this command, do I have to type the "^" character or ^C character. Confused! Please help..

The ^C's have to be real cntrl-C characters,