Not picking up the GNU version of make

Hi team,

I am new to unix,and need your advice on the below.
I am using aix5.3 and have installed make-3.82 on the server.
I need to use gmake for configuring and installing a package ,but it is giving error at the below

root@sapsrp:/usr/tmp/xymon-4.3.2
# ./configure.server

Configuration script for Xymon

This script asks a few questions and builds a Makefile to compile Xymon

Checking your make-utility
GNU make is required to build Xymon.
If it is available as "gmake", run configure as: 'MAKE=gmake ./configure.server'

I checked the code where its causing the error and tee the output

if test "$MAKE" = ""; then
        MAKE=make
fi
echo "Checking your make-utility"
MAKEVER=`$MAKE -version 2>&1 | head -n 1 | awk '{print $1 " " $2}'`
if test "$MAKEVER" != "GNU Make"
then
        echo "GNU make is required to build Xymon."
        echo "If it is available as \"gmake\", run configure as: 'MAKE=gmake $0'"
        exit 1

TEE OUTPUT
/usr/bin/gmake: Not a recognized flag: v
usage: make [-einqrst] [-k|-S] [-d[A|adg[1|2]mstv]] [-D variable] [-f makefile ] [-j [jobs]] [variable=value ...] [target ...# which gmake

Its not picking up the GNU version of make,I have alreadys set the gmake environment variable etc..

export MAKE=/usr/bin/gmake

root@sapsrp:/usr/bin
# which gmake
/usr/bin/gmake
root@sapsrp:/usr/bin
# ls -lrta *make*
-rwxr-xr-x    1 bin      bin           10318 Nov 23 2004  makedev
lrwxrwxrwx    1 bin      bin              20 Mar 01 2009  makekey -> /usr/ccs/bin/makekey
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     system           36 Apr 08 14:43 automake-1.11 -> ../../opt/freeware/bin/automake-1.11
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     system           31 Apr 08 14:43 automake -> ../../opt/freeware/bin/automake
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     system       106350 Apr 21 09:45 make
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     system       106350 Apr 21 09:47 gmake

# gcc -v
Using built-in specs.
COLLECT_GCC=gcc