NIM NFS file system cannot unmount

Hello,

I have a script on my NIM Master that runs with crons and performs mksysb backups of all NIM Clients once a week.
There is a problem with one of the clients as it stucks and never finishes the mksysb backups.
I tried to unmount the NFS file system created by the NIM in order to perform the mksysb but i cannot do it.
I killed all processes from NIM Master and client about the nim operation but i still cannot unmount the NFS.
I even tried umount -f but i still get the message below:

NFS server <NIM> not responding still trying

i don't know what else to try. I searched through smitty the nfs filesystems for this server but it doesn't appear anywhere. I cannot understand why it still try to mount it.

Any ideas on that?
Thank you

Regards,
Stavros

I am guessing you are running a

nim -o define -t mksysb ...

command to perform these backups and it is the client that is not able to unmount.

To debug - you could start with using rpcinfo -p <NIM> | grep nfs to see if the nfs demons are recognized.

The other question I would have is whethr this client has more than one IP address and/or nim route back to the nim server. If it is, the way I debugged the interface being used by default is the telnet/ssh to the nim server (use the <NIM> name as hostname, and then after login, use the command "who" to show which IP address/hostname is recognized as originating IP address.

Compare these values to what a "working" client returns.

My gut feeling, if I read corrently it is the same client that fails, is that there is a configuration difference between this client and the one that succeed.

nim -o define -t mksysb

is the one that i use to perform the mksysb backups in my script
you are right i use more than 1 ip addresses on this client. i compared
characteristics of the client throught smit nim and i noticed that on the
field Network Adapter Hardware Address the value is set to 0 and also