Newbie question: modulo operator with negative operand, bug or feature?

Hi,

I'm new to the Ash shell so my apologies if this is well known. In normal maths and other shells and languages I've used, the modulo operator always returns a positive remainder. For example see this discussion (first post so I can't hyperlink it):

The Ash shell (and I am told Bash too) return a negative result. This code run on BusyBox illustrates the problem:

#!/bin/sh
echo "The result of A % B should be an integer in the range 0 to B-1"
echo "(9-7) % 5 = $(((9-7)%5)) (should be 2)."
echo "(7-9) % 5 = $(((7-9)%5)) (should be 3)."
exit 0

Is this accepted as just a 'feature' of the shells or is it a bug?

1 Like
echo "(9-7) % 5 = $(( $(( 9 - 7 )) % 5 )) (should be 2)."
# and
echo "(9-7) % 5 = $(( ( 9 - 7 ) % 5 )) (should be 2)."

Note the spaces.

Both work in bash. /bin/sh does not have to always equal bash, it should a modern POSIX shell. I do not know how /bin/sh evaluates on busybox.

I tried every shell I could find and the answer was:

$ dash modtest
The result of A % B should be an integer in the range 0 to B-1
(9-7) % 5 = 2 (should be 2).
(7-9) % 5 = -2 (should be 3).

across all POSIX shells, dash (Debian Almquist Shell), bash, ksh88, ksh93, zsh...

aia@localhost fleefoot]$ echo "(7-9) % 5 = $(((7-9)%5)) (should be 3)."

-2%5 is -2 according how the sign is handled in languages that satisfy it as a = ((a / b) * b) + (a % b)

An example to show the difference using Perl

[aia@localhost fleefoot]$ perl -le 'print -2%5'
[aia@localhost fleefoot]$ perl -le 'print (-2)%5'

Hi.

-- Modulo - Wikipedia

Best wishes ... cheers, drl

2 Likes

@Scrutinizer - what did you try, the original code? The '$((' '))' construct requires spaces around it I believe.

NO! it does not need spaces, just leading spaces

I'm wrong - the $(( does not require spaces it is part of command substitution (from opnegroup.org):