Newbie needs to find file

I need to find a file using Applescript. Applescript is so slow. Someone on the Apple forums gave me some unix code and it works for the most part. The ls command is really list and not find but when it works, it returns the path to the file instantly, NOT 45 seconds Applescript takes.

here is the path to the folder:

/volumes/DW/700Club/AVSHEET/WorldReach now CBN International/AFRICA/

here is the name of the file:
AFRICA1 Faso, Burkina.doc

here is the shell script I am using that does not work:
text_returned is the result of a dialog box, in this example its AFRICA1

set the_AVSheet to (do shell script "ls '/volumes/DW/700Club/AVSHEET/WorldReach now CBN International/AFRICA/" & text_returned & "' '*")

can anyone help me get this to work with either ls or a find command. Thank you very much.

I am an audio post engineer who searches a dozen servers for the file I need and write code to help me find the file instead of me clicking 50 times through a folder structure that is brutal. Thanks for any help.

to start with:

find '/volumes/DW/700Club/AVSHEET/WorldReach now CBN International/AFRICA' -type f -name '*Burkina*'

this is how we work. This is the file name:
AFRICA1 Faso, Burkina.doc

We just refer to the project or file as AFRICA1. The rest of the file name sometimes it too hard to remember or pronounce. So in Applescript I use a dialog box to have the user enter the project code (AFRICA1) and I use that info in searching for the file in the folder. I hope that all makes sense. Maybe if I replace "*Burkina" with the variable text_returned that will work.

replace '*Burkina*' by 'AFRICA1*' in the find command given in post#2

I tried this but Applescript will not compile it.

set the_AVSheet to (do shell script "find '/volumes/DW/700Club/AVSHEET/WorldReach now CBN International/AFRICA' -type f -name '*Burkina*'"

---------- Post updated at 10:26 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:25 AM ----------

this does not work