Newbie needs Help with reading files into..

Hello All,

im a newbie in scripting and i need some help

i need a script for reading some files into varibles.

Background

i want to do an

scp localmaschine/localpath/$nameoffile.xml user@server:/path/$nameoffile/*/$nameoffile.xml

i got 20 - 30 files with diferent names i cant change the path and i have to copy it

it would very cool if someone can help me

Would a simple loop not suffice?

maybe?
if its possible? i got one sourcedir with all .xml files on my localhost and i have upload all files to server:/basedir/filenamefolder/filename.xml

The way does not matter

something like

for FILE in $(ls "sourcedir")
do
   scp localpath/$FILE.xml user@server:/path/$FILE/$FILE.xml
done

This is for ksh...

that looks good
thanks mate

---------- Post updated at 02:54 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:51 PM ----------

but on ls he maybe will pickup the .xml too?

---------- Post updated at 03:47 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:54 PM ----------

also something like that but only working xD

echo Enter your local directory
read localdir

for FILE in $(ls -1 | cut -d. -f1 "$localdir"); do scp $localdir/$FILE.xml user@server:/path/$FILE/$FILE.xml

if your source directory contains ONLY the .xml files, you can copy the entire directory over recursively:

echo Enter your local directory
read localdir

scp  -r "${localdir}" user@server:/remoteDirPath

@vgersh99 nope that didnt work cause i need the file name for the fully remoteDirpath
$(ls -1 | cut -d. -f1 "$localdir")

---------- Post updated at 07:00 PM ---------- Previous update was at 04:56 PM ----------

ok i got it
for FILE in $(ls -1 "$localdir" | cut -d. -f1 | grep -E '^[A*]'); do scp $localdir$FILE.xml $user@servername:$FILE/$FILE.xml; done

---------- Post updated at 07:19 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:00 PM ----------

Ok next question xD

if check_file test.sh; then
         echo "File exists"
         else
         echo "