New To Programming

Hello all!!
I am new to programming, and to this forum. :smiley:
I am having sort of a problem. Me and my coworker are working on a code, both of us are stumped on a few things.
One is we have a whole log file, i have found how to extract by column, but not by row. I need to extract by both.:confused:

For example..
I need rows 302 - 463
and columns 53-68
This is just a small portion of the log file, but it is all i need to "compare" to another file.

i hope this is clear enough for everyone, please feel free to ask any other questions if not.

thanks =)

Can you show us what you and your coworker have attempted so far?

Regards

I need rows 302 - 463

>cat mylog | head -463 | tail -162 

the head takes the first 463 lines
the tail takes the last 162 (remember to add one; for example if I want lines 99 and 100 that is two lines!)

and columns 53-68

>cat mylog | cut -c53-68

Note that these two can be put together as

>cat mylog | head -463 | tail -162 | cut -c53-68

It would be better if we use -f in stead of -c in cut command.

the -f parameter is for fields separated by a delimeter character, that may be set by a -d parameter

the -c parameter extracts data based on absolute character position

Based on the initial user request

the -c option accomplishes this. I have no idea how the -f could do the same.

if u can get the row number, u can use "sed" as following
sed -e '1,301d' -e '364,$d' mylog >log_result

as it delete from row number 1 to numer 301 , and from 364 to the end of ur log, then write the rest of the log to log_result

Thanks again everyone,
I have another question
I have two files, that have the same data in them excluding a few things. I want to compare these two files but they are not in the same order.

for example..
all of the data in the file looks similar to this

E00401001D011029
E00401001D01102D

etc