Need help with awk to get values from input (newbie here)

Hello everyone!

I have a small text file called processes.txt which contains a few lines in this fashion:

ID: 35; Arrival_Time: 0; Total_Exec_Time: 4;
ID: 36; Arrival_Time: 1; Total_Exec_Time: 6;

I am trying to figure out how I can get the values from between the delimiters ';' and ':' per line.

So if I want to first get the ID, would I have to write something like this? After that I want to store the ID times as variables that I can use to figure out other things.

ids='cat processes.txt'
echo $ids | awk -f ';' '{print $1}' 

Its obviously incorrect (it gives me errors), which is why I'm asking here if anyone would kindly help me figure out a way to obtain those values for ID, arrival times, and total exec times.

Thanks and regards!

If you are looking for output like:

35 0 4
36 1 6

Then try this:

awk '{ for( i=2; i <= NF; i += 2 ) printf( "%d ", $(i) ); printf( "\n" );  }' data-file

Awk can read your input file, so no need to put it in a variable and echo the contents to awk.
This assumes that your values are always the second, fourth and sixth blank separated fields.

Ah cool ;o

Can you please explain the following to me (im noob :frowning: /cry):

%d, and \n?

Gladly, we all started at some point.

The printf() function takes a format string as it's first parameter. This is used to determine the number of parameters, and their types, that follow. The manual page for the shell version does a wonderful job of explaining the details:
Man Page for printf (OpenSolaris Section 1) - The UNIX and Linux Forums