Need help in SED

Hi,

I am quite new to Bash shell and Unix recently.

I would like to use SED to replace characters in my files.
The input I have is the result of SED which removes all whitespaces which you can see "charc" is from "char c".Assume I have the below input character in my file:-

addstr(c,outset,j,maxset){
charc;
charoutset;
int
j;
}

I wanted to tokenise "*", "," and ";" as one separate token respectively let say a character "s" each time it is seen. And for other characters I would like to tokenize to character "t". FOr the () and { } I would also like to tokenize as one character "s".While for char, int or str type, I would like to replace with "d" as one group.

The output I am looking after is:-

ttttttststtttttststtttttss
dts
dstttttts
dsts

And then I plan to count the number of t,s,and d for each line.

I tried to find information on SED tutorials on google but it doesnt detailed to this specific case. Could anyone help.

Appreciate alot.

Thanks.

Rgrds,
Jason

Start by taking the full words to tokenise and exchange them for something 'safe' that subsequent replacements won't hit.
Then replace the remaining 'word' characters with your t token.
The symbols come next, then lastly, replace the 'safe' symbol for the t token.
Basic syntax you want:

sed 's/thing/token/g'

Untested, but try the following:

sed 's/(char|int|str)/\@/g' < file_to_convert | sed 's/[\w]/t/g' | sed 's/[\*\,\;\(\)\{\}]/s/g' | sed 's/\@/d/g'

An alternative might be to create a little script to just count the things you want without bothering to monkey with it first - pretty much just a big case with a few smarts to understand how to break the bits up.

Hi again,

One more thing,

In the command you suggested there is this :- file_to_convert . May I know what is this for?

Thanks.

-Jason

Hi Smiling Dragon.

Thanks for the reply. I am actually using

cat bla.txt| sed 's/(char|int|str)/\@/g' | sed 's/[\w]/t/g' | sed 's/[\*\,\;\(\)\{\}]/s/g' | sed 's/\@/d/g'>blabla.txt