Need help in adding missing tag in php pages

hi,
I am still a newbie on ssh but trying hard.
my friends website was hit by some virus which included a long encrypted malware code on each and every php file she had.

I was able to use sed command via ssh to remove the malware codes but now most pages don't have a opening <?php tag.

i made a copy of pages and tried many options but some or most files are not getting <?php at the start of the *.php page.
sed command i used removed the malware matching string but didn't left any space on start of files.

Can someone please help me with this.

many thanks for your time.

Please, try:

perl -i -npe '$_="<?php\n$_" if $. == 1 and not /^<\?php/; $.=0 if eof' *.php

It will convert a php file content from this:

echo readfile("webdictionary.txt");
?>

to this:

<?php
echo readfile("webdictionary.txt");
?>
1 Like

You may want to share your sed script to identify where the <?php lead in was removed.

A sed solution for your problem:

sed '1 {/<?php/b;s/^/<?php/}' file >TMP  && mv TMP file
1 Like

Thanks Aia & RudiC

RudiC your code says
sed: can't read file: No such file or directory

showing 2 screenshots

the malware code I removed using sed
find . -name "*.php" -exec sed -i '/isset/d' {} \;

but after removal <?php tag got missing
below is start of processed page after sed

earlier it was

Replace "file" with your actual file name (which you did not provide!).

Thanks again

there are 200+ files in each folder :frowning:

anything which does this in folder tree or global inside /home/user

---------- Post updated at 11:55 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:50 PM ----------

works like a charm Thanks :D;)
but haven't checked it thoroughly

As all the backup my friend has is also infected with malware copy, she cannot afford to loose the only working copy online.

I am going to test this for next few hours before i run it on LIVE server.