Need a shell script to compare two directories and produces the output

Hi,
I am using solaris OS 10 and Bash shell.I need a script which will compare the two directories and produces the output.
Step 1: In detail say suppoose I have machine one and have a directory dir1. Script should iterate through the directories and subdirectories inside and produce the output say output1.txt.

second step: I have a machine 2 and directory say dir2.script again iterate through the directories and subdirectories inside and produce an output say output2.txt

third step: need to compare the two files say output1.txt and output2.txt and if you found any difference in the two output files generate the output to new text file say output3.txt.

I am new to shell scripting. Appreciate your help on it.

for a start i would try to find out how to do the above manualy with commands like find and diff . after knowing how this works you can start to automate the procedure in a script...

ok thanks

---------- Post updated 03-28-12 at 12:29 AM ---------- Previous update was 03-27-12 at 06:19 AM ----------

hi any other help on it?

Do the two directories have the same files?

And what exactly are you trying to differentiate? the list of files or the contents of each file?

Hi two directory names are same but residing in two different servers.
The two directories having different files and directories inside.Some of the directories and files are same and rest of them are different.

My intention is to compare the list of the files and directories in the server1 dir1 output file with server2 dir1 output file.
finally to find out the missing directories and files between two output files.
yes i need only list of the files.Another concern is there are some softlinks inside the directories not sure how to verify them.

Advance thanks for your response.

Hi,

Try this one,

#! /usr/bin/bash
if [ $# -ne 2 ];then
echo "Usage: $0 -l [location] -o [outputfile]";
exit;
fi
dir=$1
output=$2
cd $dir