My UnixWare SCO Server

Hi, I'm new to this Unix world and have taken over looking after the I.T side of things at work, which includes the internal ERP system which runs on a UNIX SCO platform.

My initial worry is what state this is in as its been on site over 20 years.

What would be the first things to check on this ?

Version: UnixWare danapak 5 7.1.3 i386 SCO UNIX_SVR5

Well, there have been patches. It might be good to build a parallel server with new OS, software, hardware before the fans give out or something. You could buy a brand new PC based server w/good old free LINUX. Most x86 LINUX/UNIX code used to be portable, but I haven't checked if x86_64 systems run old 32 bit coff/elf executables and files. I do not see your O/S here: The SCO Group, Inc. | Support | SCO Product and Maintenance Download Page

ELF ought to work given matching libraries, but ELF was 1995 and later. There's still options for ECOFF in the Linux kernel, but they might need to be built-in custom; I can't imagine a standard kernel having them enabled.

Whether a program from 1992 will work without its corresponding libraries is another question. I have no idea how shared libraries would need to be set up for COFF. I doubt the standard ld.so system would touch them.

Try migrating to newer OS and hardware. What is the ERP solution you are using?

IBM Power systems with AIX could be great for SAP/ERP in terms of performance and stability, but with high maintenance cost. A good Intel based server with Linux on top will save you money a lot. Even you can go for Solaris on Intel (again Sparc servers are costly). But still when you think of Intel platform, Linux is the best bait.

I know UnixWare 7 (release 7.1.4) is the latest one and I use this OS for my testing purposes. What's your hardware configuration by the way?

BTW, I am using a Progress database running a PECAS business solution.

---------- Post updated at 11:26 AM ---------- Previous update was at 11:23 AM ----------