Moving files to 'trash'

Hi I'm new to Linux, and I'm trying to write a shell script where I remove a specific file (i.e file1 or file1.txt), but i don't actually remove it, i move it to a directory called 'trash' - in vi I created a file with the path /usr/bin/del and in it I have:

mv $file /home/trash, but I'm getting an error message that says missing argument.

I also tried mv *.* /home/trash, which sort of worked and I thought I had got it until I realised it moved ALL the files in the directory I was in to the 'trash' directory...

Any help would be awesome.

Jodi

Hi Jodi

Methinks you need to read and understand a book on Linux before you wreck your system.

A reminder about filenames:
Long after the creation of Unix came MSDOS from M$.
In MSDOS (which became M$ Windows) the suffix of the filename conveyed the file type. This does not apply to Unix and Linux though there are
informal conventions. The fullstop character is just another character in the filename.

Assuming your script /usr/bin/del contains the one line
mv $file /home/trash
This is not enough.
Unless there is a value in the variable $file , the command will fail.

Unfortunately because you appear to have no basic training I cannot continue to advise.

I don't care how much training you have, or if you destroy your system/server/etc..

So here we go! Put that in your .bashrc file. An alias (from what I can tell/find) can not have variables, but you can use a function and it acts just like an alias, except a lot more powerful.

The code below accepts one argument.. it tests if the argument provided is a normal file that exists, and if it is, moves it to ../trash (actually thats commented out), if the file is not a normal file, or does not exist, it will say no such file. This code can EASILY be modified, and expanded.. its not that great at all, but I am going to sleep. Have fun!

function delstuff() {
        if [ -f $1 ]; then
                echo "Moving file to trash..."