Moving Files Automatically

I'm looking to find/create a script so that when a download is complete, I can run the script in order for it to automatically move a file such as...

'example.avi' into my videos folder

I'm a novice when it comes to scripting, any advice/help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Andrew

What will the constants be? Will the file be moved from /Users/<yourUserName>/Downloads to /Users/<yourUserName>/Movies ?
Will it always be a .AVI file?

Constants will always be the directory. For example file downloaded to Downloads Folder, and be moved to Movies, or Music.

.avi, .mp4, or .mp3

and move to the according folder

Kind of a simple approach, assumes you know how to save a bash shell script and make it executable, and to run it.

#!/bin/bash
for i in ~/Downloads/*.avi
do
mv "$i" ~/Movies
done

for i in ~/Downloads/*.mp4
do
mv "$i" ~/Movies
done

for i in ~/Downloads/*.mp3
do
mv "$i" ~/Music
done

---------- Post updated at 05:53 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:51 PM ----------

Basically, save the code to a text file on your desktop named Whatever.sh

Open Terminal and do: chmod +x ~/Desktop/Whatever.sh

To run it in Terminal: sh ~/Desktop/Whatever.sh

Thanks for the quick response! I really appreciate it.

It did in fact work, and I must say will save me a lot of silly time.

I am starting to read a book on shell scripting, so this is an awesome little start to it. I am familiar with C++ and Java, but am obviously new to this.

For educational purposes, would you mind explaining what "i' represents in the code?

Cheers!

---------- Post updated at 06:26 PM ---------- Previous update was at 06:08 PM ----------

Did the obvious editing necessary. One last question to make this script simply PERFECT! :smiley: