Mounting Tape Drive

Sorry I posted it in wrong forum first.

OK, I'm new to Unix (but an IT since DOS 6.2 era) Long story short I'm trying to help a friend who has failing Unix system which is perhaps 16 years old with SCO Openserver 3.4v4.2 with DDS90 Tape where they backup their data. I've setup a Dell Precision 390 with Unix 5.0.7 HW version and installed a Adaptec AHA-2940AU PCI card (on SCSI default ID 7) with Seagate Scorpion STD224000N Tape Drive (on SCSI ID 6). Question is how do I find the tape and how do I mount it so I can restore the data from the old machine to this.
Please help.
Thanks

Run:

mkdev tape

The Adaptec controller is referred to as 'alad'

---------- Post updated at 06:32 AM ---------- Previous update was at 06:25 AM ----------

If the data on the backup tape is in tar format, then

tar xv8 

should extract the data from the default tape drive.
The list of tar devices is maintained in /etc/default/tar.
The 'tape' command can be used to display the status of the drive.

upon choosing "alad", it ask following:

• Which 'alad' SCSI host adapter supports this device? Select 0-4

• What SCSI Bus is this device attached to? Press <Return> to use the default:0 Select 0-n,

• What is the Target ID for this device? Select 0-15

• What is the LUN of this device? Press <Return> to use the default:0 Select 0-7

I've attached the images of the system post and boot.

PLEASE PLEASE HELP

Thanks

Host adapter 0, it is the first and only host adapter in the computer.
Scsi bus is 0, this is only a single channel host adapter.
Target Id is 6 (the tape drive)
LUN is 0; as far as I know there have been no implementations of devices with logical unit numbers.
5.0.7 does not have automatic hardware recognition, so the host adapter does not show in the initial boot hardware list until the device driver for the host adapter (alad) is compiled into the kernel; which will happen during the running of 'mkdev tape'.