Modify users password via script?

Ok, first off, I'm working on a Vmware ESX server, which I guess is loosely based off of Red Hat 9. But I'm brand new to it (today), so be nice.

I'm trying to write a useradd script that will create some users, generate a password, and set their password to this newly generated password.

Now by hand, I can use the useradd command, and then use passwd to change their password. But if I've got to set up a couple hundred users, this is not enjoyable.

So if I can't use passwd in a script (because it requires user interaction), how can I create these users with some default password?

This is on an ESX 3.x.x box, but you've got a few options.

The first is to use the --stdin option to passwd, e.g.

# useradd -m -d /home/foo foo
# echo "foo" | passwd --stdin foo
Changing password for user foo.
passwd: all authentication tokens updated successfully.

This would require you storing the plain text password in your script. A *much* safer option is to add a user and set the password as you normally would to a standard value, e.g.

# useradd -m -d /home/tmpuser tmpuser
# passwd tmpuser

Now, you can use the encrypted password for this user when creating other accounts, so that all newly created accounts have the same password as "tmpuser", e.g.

# useradd -m -d /home/newuser -p `awk -vFS=':' '$1 ~ /^tmpuser/ {print $2}' /etc/shadow` newuser

Cheers,
ZB

Thanks for the reply. I would have replied back sooner, but haven't gotten a chance to try it out till now. I actually like the --stdin option. The script actually won't be holding a plain text password. What I would like to do is generate a random password in my script, and pass it to --stdin.

I just have one problem. I'm really new to Vmware ESX, but I was able to find a little script that generates a password. Here it is:

MAXSIZE=8
array1=(
q w e r t y u i o p a s d f g h j k l z x c v b n m
)
MODNUM=${#array1[*]}
pwd_len=0
while [ $pwd_len -lt $MAXSIZE ]
do