Merge multiple lines in same file with common key using awk

I've been a Unix admin for nearly 30 years and never learned AWK. I've seen several similar posts here, but haven't been able to adapt the answers to my situation. AWK is so damn cryptic! :wink:

I have a single file with ~900 lines (CSV list). Each line starts with an ID, but with different stuff after it which I want to merge onto a single line. Sometimes there are just a couple of lines to be merge, sometimes there are 4 or 5. The input file is already sorted.
Here's an example:

2,"URL","website","aaa.com"
2,"abc","text","some text"
2,"Password","password","12345678"
3,"URL","website","10.0.10.75"
3,"uname","text","some text"
3,"Password","password","password"
3,"ulang","text","some text"
4,"URL","website","192.168.2.110"
4,"Login","login","admin"
4,"Password","password","blah-blah"

Output should look like:

2,"URL","website","aaa.com","abc","text","some text",Password","password","12345678"
3,"URL","website","10.0.10.75","uname","text","some text""Password","password","password","ulang","text","some text"

---------- Post updated at 12:22 AM ---------- Previous update was at 12:11 AM ----------

I forgot to mention, each line in the input file only has 4 fields.

Assuming that the first occurrence of the whole second field is at the second-field:

awk -F, 'NR!=1 && p1!=$1{print prev;prev=""}
{p1=$1;prev=(prev"")?prev FS substr($0,index($0,$2)):$0}
END{if(prev"") print prev}' file
1 Like

Try

awk -F "," 's != $1 || NR ==1{s=$1;if(p){print p};p=$0;next}
{sub($1,"",$0);p=p""$0;}END{print p}' file
1 Like

AMAZING!

Thank you, that works!

I wish I could learn AWK, I know it's really powerful. I've coded in many different languages and can usually work out what stuff does, but AWK is so cryptic!

I'm looking at what you posted trying to understand. If you're up giving me a little tutorial, I'd love to understand.

Where does p1 come from?

Is prev a built-in variable?