Match pattern and get lines numbers in a vector

Hi everyone,
I am new to shell scripting, and would appreciate your help on following problem.

I need to search a file for a pattern, then get the number of each line that matches the given pattern.
Then I need to search those specific line numbers from the first file in a second file and print the entire lines.

I tried with grep -n 'pattern' from the first file, which gives me:

21: pattern
37: pattern
58: pattern

now I need to get 21,37,58... in a vector or something, and display these lines from the second file.

I hope I made myself clear.

thanks in advance

Post samples of the input files and the desired output.

file1:

ldap_bind_s
ldap_bind_s
ldap_bind_s
ldap_bind_proxy
ldap_bind_s
ldap_bind_s
... etc

file2:

John Smith
Martin King
Octavius Papadocoluos
Helen Mayweather
Johnatan Stick
...etc

I need to search in file1 for pattern=ldap_bind_proxy, and display the name of the person at the same line number from file2
e.g. in above example, it would be Helen Mayweather, located at line number 4

Thank you

---------- Post updated at 01:22 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:20 PM ----------

I tried:

cat file1.txt | grep -n 'ldap_bind_proxy' | var=`cut -d ':' -f1` | sed -n '"$var"p' file2.txt

but something isn't going well

This will give you both the pattern and the record from the second file:

% paste file1 file2 | grep -F 'ldap_bind_proxy'
ldap_bind_proxy Helen Mayweather

With awk

awk 'NR == FNR {
  $0 ~ p && nr = NR 
  next
  }
FNR == nr
  ' p='ldap_bind_proxy' file1 file2
1 Like

Thank you radoulov. for your reply.
Can you please explain a bit, the code meaning, because it only displays only the last match and not all of them, so I can modify it accordingly.

thanks

This should work:

awk 'NR == FNR {
  $0 ~ p && nr[NR] 
  next
  }
FNR in nr
  ' p='ldap_bind_proxy' file1 file2