Logs not rotated

I'm fairly new to this...

System: Kali Linux - based on Debian (Stretch)
uname -a : Linux kali 4.18.0-kali3-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.18.20-2kali2 (2018-11-30) x86_64 GNU/Linux

I noticed that the space on my root partition was continuously shrinking even though I didn't do much on the machine and it wasn't even running continuously. Then I tested a script with a lot of calls to sudo in it and noticed that var/log/auth.log was getting rather large - understandable because of the sudo calls. I took a closer look at /var/log and it looks like there haven't been any log rotations since the end of August.

According to crontab they should be rotated every day. (I'm not sure what role anacron plays here currently which may be responsible for this kind of task if the machine isn't running 24/7.)

I took a look at /etc/cron.daily/logrotate (see below) and I don't understand the purpose of the test for the existence of /run/systemd/system and the exit if it exists. The directory is empty but it exists - so unless it disappears periodically the rest of the script will never execute.

I then executed the command /usr/sbin/logrotate /etc/logrotate.conf (at the end of the script) by hand and the logs were rotated.

root@kali:/var/log# ll auth*
-rw-r----- 1 root adm      2013 Dec 12 16:25 auth.log
-rw-r----- 1 root adm 264686726 Dec 12 15:15 auth.log.1
-rw-r----- 1 root adm      1107 Aug 28 05:39 auth.log.2.gz
-rw-r----- 1 root adm      2342 Aug  5 21:10 auth.log.3.gz
-rw-r----- 1 root adm      4927 Jul 30 08:39 auth.log.4.gz

Okay, I may be on a completely wrong track here and would benefit from a hint in the right direction.

Here the code of /etc/cron.daily/logrotate:

#!/bin/sh

# skip in favour of systemd timer
if [ -d /run/systemd/system ]; then
    exit 0
fi

# this cronjob persists removals (but not purges)
if [ ! -x /usr/sbin/logrotate ]; then
    exit 0
fi

/usr/sbin/logrotate /etc/logrotate.conf
EXITVALUE=$?
if [ $EXITVALUE != 0 ]; then