Linux Redhat ES 4.0 - DNS Config Issues

Hello all,

I've a very strange thing hapenning in my Sys, I've configured the IP, DNS eveything for my internat connection, but Im only able to browse Redhat.com websites.

I cant open anyother site!!! :eek:

Im sure the internet is configured 'coz it displays the list of avail updates for the OS from Redhat.com.

I'm not using any proxy and I've cheked the Lan setting inside firefox.

Any help?!?

Thanks.

Rgds,
Abhi :slight_smile:

You may not have your /etc/resolver.conf file set up correctly and are simply picking up a host from the default /etc/hosts file.

Where is your nameserver running?

argh.. well the boot somehow screwed up... and I had to install xp over it to recover all my docs... I guess u shld knw Im a beginner by this time... and very keen to learn linux... any suggesstion which is the best GNU/linux for beginners???

It just sounds like you've missed a simple step in telling RED HAT where to get its information from. Where is the Nameserver located at?

Im a newbie should I use Fedora/ Ubuntu or anything else I already a win xp on my sys. The sys is also pretty new amd 2.1, 512mb 60gb I guess is suffice for running any linux distro right?

so please let me knw what to use???

Thanks
abhi :cool:

abhi,

Oooo... you already have Windows on the machine and you don't want to lose it right? Well... if its windows on the disk entirely, you'll want a Linux Live distro cd. Im also new to the Unix/Linux environment, but I've made mistakes and learned from them.

First off, don't install Linux on your machine, unless you're willing to start all over learning an Operating system. You'll want a CD/DVD live Linux Distro for that. You can find them at either of the below sites: