linux over windows

1) i want to switch myself from windows to linux OS. i have never used linux before. could u please guide me what distro i should install..

2) secondly i have to buy a new laptop. recommend me any good solid laptop for linux OS. coz i have heard u have to have problems with drivers when it comes to linux.

thanks!

Welcome to UNIX.COM!
Please read the forum rules (thread moved).

------------------------------------------------------------------------
oops!:eek:
i m sorry.. i didn't know that.
with due respect.. u know my question:).. help me with that..

This is a pretty broad question. We would need to know what you plan on doing with this OS. Is it simply for surfing and email? Do you want to do office type tasks (word processor, spreadsheets, etc)? Are there any "special" programs that you run in Windows that you will still need? Those are the details that make the answers easier.

Now, on the other hand, I haven't found any decent laptop that won't run Linux, so you could actually buy a used machine or the new ones in the $300 - $400 range and be ok. As for me, I would recommend Ubuntu as the distro to run as a first-timer. I've installed it several times for different people and have had zero problems with drivers. The learning curve wasn't very difficult either. This included web, email, Open Office and even wireless.

yeah i believe that's a pretty board question.. i want a change, so thats the only reason. i have been with computer field from last 10 years.. wat i had done in IT is only college level projects .. thats it.. different languages based on IT infrastructures. very limited knowledge no specilization.. nothing..
i have never done C or C++ language even, coz our instructures had this in their mind, like we have far better modern languages as compare to C. but i know C is the mother of all languages :slight_smile:
recommend me books too. i would really appreciate that..
thanks