LDAP data in CSV format

Hi all,

I am new here, please don't eat me alive..

I am trying to find a good community to learn and participate in unix / linux discussions to help me improve in my current job.

That being said, I have a problem which I didn't expect to challenge me, but I can't seem to find a viable solution..

I am trying to do one of two things:

1. Take an LDIF export from an LDAP directory and convert it to a CSV format where the first line contains attributes and the preceding lines contain values, one line per object.
  2. Find a way to export directly from the LDAP directory into a CSV format in the above configuration.

I am not good at writing scripts, so I've searched around for a pre-existing solution. Perhaps a program which takes an LDIF and a few attribute names as an input and outputs a CSV. Or maybe something which can search an LDAP directory and export the contents directly into CSV format.

Can this be done?

This is Redhat Linux, the process is IBM Security Directory Server which is an LDAP directory.

As much as I'd like to help, not knowing how "an LDIF export from an LDAP directory" looks like stops me. Posting input and desired output samples will definitely help.

Sure, I can do that. Below is the current format of the LDIF output file. It can be modified in terms of the attributes but overall it's the same as the below.

Each object is separated by an empty line. The first line is the full DN of the object and each preceding line is in the form of "attribute = value". Here is an example of how two user objects would be represented. The LDIF only contains user objects.

As you can see, not every attribute is represented, for example, user2 has no 'employeenumber' and so the attribute is not listed.

I am trying to find a way to convert automatically into standard CSV format.

uid=user1,cn=users,dc=domain,dc=com
givenname=User
salesorg=2010
sn=One
telephonenumber=+15555555555
l=Melville
employeetype=E
mail=user1@domain.com