Kick off Application on PC from Sun

I need to kick off an application on windows from my sun workstation. The workstation needs to know when windows application completes the job.

What are the possible ways of doing it.
Any ideas on how to go about doing it will be very helpful.

Thxs in advance.

can the app on your windows machine look for a trigger file?

IE: if your app sees a specific file it knows to 1) delete the file 2) to execute.

Optimus_P,

I am not sure what you mean?

Providing more information about the applications would be helpful.

Let me prelude this with the following statement: There are probably better ways to do this. There are RPC abilities within Windows, but I have no experience with them.

You could always install Cygwin on your Windows system to give you unix like facilities to communicate with (http://cygwin.com/\).

Cheers,

Keith

Hi,

Dont know if this may sound too complex, but here is what I would have done (offcourse only if i had known windows programming :slight_smile: )

you can have your solaris application open a socket and listen on a port and a socket on windows that would write to this port after completion of the job, thus notifying it. once the solaris socket gets this info it can then continue with what you want it to continue with :slight_smile:

I can tell you further on the unix side of this, for windows please spare me !!

Warm
Regards

forgot to mention one thing, the file approach is a bit crude and surely inefficient method.

thanks to both kduffin and linuxpenguin.

I think what I was looking for was what linuxpenguin said.
My system really needs a unix box to communicate with a Windows box. The client sits on the windows box and server + db on the unix box.

Is there any other ways of doing this? I have never coded with sockets, so I have no idea where to start.

Any help - suggestions - comments - ideas ??