JMX monitoring on unix server

Hi All,

I am new to JMX.Can anybody tell me how to use this it on unix server.

Using JMX i want to check the system monitoring(%cpu utilization , size utilization )how to start JMX on UNIX

Thanks

Because of JMX is part of Java and runs inside a Java Virtual Machine, there should be no problem to start JMX in the same way like you do on windows.

Maybe you could tell some more infos what you exactly want to do? Or, how you are trying to start and what exactly you are "starting"

Hi spidi4u,

AS i googled , found that we are using JMX for the monitoring purpsoe.

on unix server , using unix commands i am trying to monitor %cpu for each processid

Eg:process id 3456 -takes 78% of cpu
using unix "top" command i can find the %cpu utilization

but i want to know again detailed reasons, means where we need 78%
exactly

Eg :from 78 % , 20%...is fror some reasons 30 % is for ...
28% is ...

but want to know that wheter there is a programm for this , or how can we do the same on servers using JMX.

using JMX i want monitor size utilization , time utilization , %cpu ,%mem

please help me to start this, give me some simple examples.

ah ok i see, so your problem isn�t really JMX. Your real problem is a good UNIX command which gives you detailed information about CPU/Mem Usage.

Ok I think we can find som solution for that, but please excuse I�m also no Unix pro at all...
Could you tell me what kind of UNIX you are using? If we find a good UNIX command, there should be no problem to use this with JMX :wink:

---------- Post updated at 10:23 ---------- Previous update was at 08:56 ----------

to my mind, if you type "top" there should be a table summary of all pids and there should also be a column of %cpu and %mem... isnt it?

just looks like that:

source: cyberciti.biz

what u have said is right.

but from business perspective, we can find some cpu utilization only using with JMX not unix. I also dont know how to use that.