Issue with Oracle 10 installation on Solaris 10

Hi all,

After implementing all the pre install set up in Solaris I triggered the oracle DB install.

I am doing it directly from the local machine console and I got the following error -

Checking monitor: must be configured to display at least 256 colors
    >>> Could not execute auto check for display colors using command /usr/openwin/bin/xdpyinfo. Check if the DISPLAY variable is set.    Failed <<<<

This error occurs only when the user is oracle. But when the user is root the error does not occur.

Also Following command is not there there for either users

/usr/open/win/bin/xdpyinfo

This is my first attempt at installing oracle DB on solaris.

I would appreciate any suggestion.

Thanks
Sumeet

Just a long shot in the dark :slight_smile:
Login as root, run the following commands and write down the output:

echo "$DISPLAY"
xauth list

Run su - oracle , then:

DISPLAY=<previously saved value>; export DISPLAY
xauth add <previously saved value(the entire row) of xauth list command that corresponds to the above virtual desktop>

:slight_smile:

Hi Raoulov,

I did exactly what you said -

AS ROOT -

# echo $DISPLAY
localhost:0.0
# xauth list
unknown : 0 MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

switch to ORAcLE as user -

# su oracle
# DISPLAY=localhost:0.0;export $DISPLAY
# echo $DISPLAY
localhost:0.0
# xauth add unknown : 0 MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xauth : timeout in locking authority file /.Xauthority

Following data is there in the /etc/host file -

# cat /etc/host
127.0.0.1     localhost
xxx.xx.xxx.xxx unknown # Added by DHCP

And there is no .Xauthority file.

Please let me what is wrong.

Thanks
Sumeet

First of all run xhost + as root:

xhost + localhost

Then check these:

You say the there is no .Xauthority, but did you check under the user's home directory?