ISO UNIX Tutoring in Regular Expressions

Hello all- New to this forum, and relatively new to using grep at the Terminal command line to work with regular expressions. I've got a background in mathematics and some programming experience, so it's not been too difficult to learn the basics of searching through word lists for particular types of matches.

Now I've got a trickier piece of code that I don't know how to write, and I'm struggling to teach myself with the available online resources. I could greatly benefit from a few hours of in-person tutoring from an expert. Is this the appropriate place on this forum to post a call for a suitable tutor in my area?

I live in Queens, New York City. I imagine one afternoon might be enough to have my main questions answered and get me going on my own from there. Open to cash payment or to bartering for skills or artwork (I'm an artist).

Please be in touch if you are interested or know someone who might be. And of course if there is a better place on the forum to post this, I'd appreciate being directed that way.

All best-
Dominick T.

Hi dtalvacchio,

Have you tried the NY Linux Users Group? NYLUG - New York Linux Users Group (New York, NY) - Meetup
There are always very eager Linux users willing to help you in the LUG, especially if you put effort in learning.

Talking about learning. What is it that you would like to achieve? I know that you mentioned grep , but are you talking about shell programming or how to use the command line?
Maybe is not even necessary to have a "personal tutor".

Hello Aia, and thanks for the response.

I'm interested in learning the ins and outs of regular expressions for the purpose of crossword and other word puzzle writing.

Typically with crossword writing, the basic grep commands are more than sufficient for any needs that I might have.