IPC - pipes between parent and child process

Hi guys, I'm having some problem here, I'm studying pipes, and i want to create a shell in C and at this point a don't want to use semaphores, instead I want to use tricks. Straight to the doubt: I've a parent and a child process, and both of them has some code to execute, and the child process code need the data on the file descriptor which is written by the parent process, my problem is i can't make the child process to execute the code after the parent process writes the data on the file descriptor.

Thanks

PS: I don't want to use semaphores yet.

Subroutine popen() is the easiest way to create a child and send it a stream. Otherwise pipe, fork, close, fdup, and if desired, exec*(). Oh, fflush() if using FILE*.!

I've been awared of that, but my goal is to learn how to synchronize read/write file descriptors without using semaphores, my professor said that is possible and told us o theorical pseudo-code.

Using for instance a pipe between the parent and the child (write end at the parent, read end at the child), you may synchronize as follows: the child waits (i.e. reads the pipe using a blocking read) until the parent tells the child to go ahead (by writing something into the pipe). You ensure that the child will only execute once the parent told to do so.

If you need to synchronize the other way around (parent waits - child tells), use a pipe in the other direction (write end at the child, read end at the parent). And if you need to synchronize in both directions, you will need two pipes.

HTH,
Lo�c

Well, it sounds like you need a protocol, or operate your pipes full duplex with at state machine at each end to take care of activities on that overlaid protocol. Decoding & analyzing professors is much more complex than decoding & analyzing an API. :smiley: