IPC Mechanisms

Hi!

I wanted to know the advantages / disadvantages of different IPC mechanims such as sockets, pipes (unnamed) , shared memory & message queues.

Pipes for example i hear are fast , but are difficult to debug as compared to sockets.

Can you guys please name some situations where one is prefered over the other?

Thanks!

That's a broad, open question - it almost sounds like an essay for homework.

Either way, if you have a look at the introduction to each section in Beej's guide to Unix IPC, that should give you a decent background in all the standard methods of IPC, and I'm sure you can "compare and contrast" (or whatever) in your own head.

Please come back if there are any specifics you'd like to know/aren't sure about.

LOL ! School ended about 3 years ago. I have been working with C++ for about 3 years; i am actually trying to gain knowledge of system programming by either R&D or by Q&A. I'll run through the beej's guide.... thanks!

The reason i asked is , the book i am refering explains each mechanism well, but it does not say when to prefer one over the other.....

God i wish school was still on :wink:

Cheers!

---------- Post updated 06-20-10 at 05:13 AM ---------- Previous update was 06-19-10 at 12:21 PM ----------

So i did go through that article, picked up a book on my way home (UNIX Systems Programming: Communication, Concurrency and Threads). They both do a wonderful job of explaining each of the IPC mechaisms...setting up keys, calling ctl/op functions... & destroying them.... Yet there is no mention of any performance implication or suggestion of when each of these should be preferred. So i have to ask again... are there any specific subsets of problems where one should be preferred over another.... i.e. for example whats stopping one from using named pipes as opposed to message queues?

Well, let's take a look at some situations where these things are used...