Invalid Fixed Disk Parameter Table

Good afternoon ladies and gentlemen,
Warning I am a beginner again.
I have so far successfully installed both a Dos 6.2 and SCO V 3.2.4 on my Pentium system with 256M ram. I can boot to the active Unix partition and boot either operating system.
This all on a single IdE master drive.
Looking to upgrade to SCO Open Server 5.0.4 I had to install a SCSI system to use the distribution software. I installed an approved Adaptec scsi adapter , scsi hdd, scsi cdrom. By disabling the IDE in the bios and enabling boot from the bios recognized adapter I was able to low level format the drive and begin installation.
After the boot floppy starts I get the topic title across the top line then the Boot: prompt. Installation proceeds until about 64% then a kernel panic error some rows of numbers and a safe to reboot or turn off machine. Additionally I get a few shared file verification errors during the installation. Not many about 6 or seven.
I have tried searching the various usual places for help. One suggestion was an interrupt conflict so I altered those around to no avail. Then I was told the low level format I did killed the drive.
On a second scsi drive I was able to put a dos partition on it and when I tried adding 5.0.4 I got the same title problem. This drive was also low level formatted by the Adapters rom bios.
Any idea what is causing this ? One or both issues? Are they related?
Thank you for any suggestions

I've done a lot of work with SCO Unix but it was a long time ago.

What hardware is this? I seem to remember having to switch off graphics adapter memory mapping in the BIOS for some SCO installations depending on the hardware being used.