Installing Mandrake

I am pretty new to Unix/linux and have been itching to use a linux os for a while. And after some research i found that Mandrake was the best for someone like me. I need to know what files i need to download to make a boot disc(s) to make my laptop run only linux. The laptop runs around 200-500mhz though Im not sure, with a 4GB hardrive. So if anyone has the exact files that need to be burned etc.

I tried before with mandrake but couldn't make a linux formatted floppy to help installation. version 10.0
I also tried knoppix which I would rather use. But after installing my screen got scratchy and would freeze. If you know of a way to do the previously listed with knoppix that would be awsome, but whatever.

Mandrake 10.1 Official Edition just got released 2004-12-06.
You can download the installation ISO (disk images) from the Mandrake website. It usually consists of 3 iso images. Which amounts to about 2.1GBs of data you can download. Its not necessary to download all 3. But if your going to download them, might as well.

You can download the ISO's here;
http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=02133\#0

There are also bit torrents for this release as well.
http://qa.mandrakesoft.com/torrent/?C=M;O=D

The CD's are bootable, so you should not need a floppy, unless your machine is unable to boot from a CD. If it doesn't boot from the CD, and is not very old, then you might just need to change the boot order in the BIOS.

Alright, I just download 10.1 Disc 1 ISO which took me 6 hours for some odd reason... Going to try it now. And my machine is pretty old. Which kinda presents another problem, the bios never loads on startup...It just says its their in my control panel. I know this is not windows forums so I won't go itno it. As for the ISO's Im just gonna try the one first...Cause the site said I only need one. Will let know if it works.