Install Linux on remote server from Windows PC

I am very new with servers and have never used Linux. The server I'm looking at is not currently connected to anything, and I wish to install Linux on this server. It doesn't have a monitor (no video card) or keyboard. It does have a DVD. Can I communicate with that server using a Windows PC to start the process of installing Linux?

Or is there another method for communicating with the server to get the OS installed? Sorry for the extremely simple questions. Id appreciate help if someone doesn't mind going down to basics with me.:confused:

Thank you ahead of time.

If that server has some kind of built-in remote management capability (like HP's Integrated Lights Out or Dell's Remote Access Controller): yes, it's possible.

Otherwise, most distributions support setup via SSH. You'll have to attach at least a monitor and keyboard for a short while, and as soon as SSH access is possible you can continue the setup over the network.

Thank you, I'll try that. So I need to add a video card first, right? This was a custom built server, so there is nothing on the drive yet.

The drive is not the relevant part. The concept pludi discussed was about an integrated lights out controller, that is built onto the machine that allows direct remote administration similar to HP's ILO or Dell's DRAC.

To my knowledge, when a server is build an ip address should be assigned to it by default. You can get the default ip address from the vendor (Or it should be specified along with the default host name printed on a tag tied on the front or stuck on the top part of the balde).

You can use this ipaddress / host name to connect through SSH. Once you are able to connect to the system, you can change the default hostname and ipaddress.

A bare system will have no IP address. If you are talking about the management port, that will often have a default IP address or in some cases, require a serial connection to get working.