echo " blah blah "
fi

or I replaced above if with

if[-d ${dirName}/ dirname ]
then
      echo "dir exists"
fi

This is also not working.

I am new to KSH. So can someone help why if stmt is not working in KSH.
It's giving me error as

if[-f /var/log/messages ]: not found
syntax error: `then' unexpected

Use space around the square brackets: if [ -f ...

It is also better practice to use:

instead of:

Still it's not working after using space.
Its giving error as

if[ -f /var/log/messages ]: not found    #==> I did put one space at start and end of [ ]

You are still not using enough spaces

if [[ -f /var/log/messages ]]
then
fi

Yes I tried to use the space

if[[ -f /var/log/messages ]]
then
        echo "This dir not exists."
fi

Error : 
if[[ -f /var/log/messages ]]: not found

---------- Post updated at 09:57 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:54 AM ----------

After using the 2 spaces still the same error. I dont know why its giving error for IF

if[[  -f /var/log/messages  ]]: not found
./rdaMakeWL92.sh[8]: syntax error: `then' unexpected

You need a space either side of [ - between the if and the first [.

ifSPACE[[SPACE ... SPACE]]

OMG ...It really funny now it's working just putting space after IF ... welcome to shell scripting .. :slight_smile:

if  [-d /var/log/messages]
then
        echo "This dir not exists."
fi

Thanks much for helping me in this.

Surely one space after the "if" and one space after the "[" and one space before the "]".

if [ -f /var/log/messages ]
then
        echo "This file exists"
fi

if [ -d /var/log ]
then
        echo "This directory exists
fi

if [ ! -d /var/log ]
then
        echo "This directory does not exist"
fi

For me - only for ! or negative condition I should have to put space after IF,"[" and "]" but for normal or posivitive condtion only one space after if working. Anyway it good practice to put space as mentioned by you. :slight_smile:

It's not a question of "good practice". It's a question of correct syntax.