I want to be a white-hat hacker!

HI,

i want to be a white hacker(those who use their skills in ethical hacking)

for that what all languages do i need to know

i am working in an IT company and its paying me well, i just want to learn it because it has always attracted me..i know c,c++,shell,little bit html what else do i need to know?? plz help

thanx in advance
shekhar:confused:

Most white hackers I know are gifted in c and shell programming. They also do perl programming from time to time. The thing they know most about is internetworking and programming seems to be more of a peripheral advantage.

Do you mean an expert in penetration testing, or do you mean a software/hardware experimenter?

I believe you mean "white-hat" hacker. heh

yes i i am also into networking and system administration...i am new in d company so various training are also scheduled for me in which they will teach me perl and python also...what i basically want to know is : "do i also need to learn JAVA .DOT NET etc for that"

---------- Post updated at 01:12 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:09 PM ----------

@corona...i meant system and security administrator who knows the hacking so as to save his company from hackers attack

For a pen tester knowledge of programming languages is rather a minor point, as they are used mostly to glue together various tasks or automate others. More important is a good knowledge of networking protocols (IP, TCP, UDP, HTTP, SMTP, ...), how instructions are executed (regardless of the language it's written in), how process memory is organized (stack, heap, ...), and how to use and combine the tools already available (nmap, netcat, tcpdump, metaspl0it, various intercepting proxies, ...)

1 Like

Thanks, man! You are right. ...you meant basic knowledge of languages and deep knowledge of networking protocols and tools ?