I am new to HPUX so kindly provide information related to it

Hello Gurus

I am new to HPUX so kindly help me by providing information related to HPUX. I would like to know the date when HPUX 11i v3 comes in to market as well as I have H3056S student guide dated May 2005 which I download through some site. Now I want to know its a HPUX 11i v2 or HPUX 11i v3 supported pdf

Regards

HP-UX 11i v3 was released in Feb 2007. Yes, HP-UX supports PDF.

v3 introduced so much good new stuff, you really don't want to run any other version. :b:

Depends on what hardware you are running, v3 wont run on an old alpha.

hello! i'm and HP fan, i know nothing about using HP-UX, UNIX or related, exept, that i have used MAC OS, i wanted to join the HP-UX world! could you help me, i don't even know which hardware to buy, or system requeriments. is the PA-RISC discontinued?

thanks!

Alpha? :confused: Whatchu talkin bout Willis? HP-UX doesn't run on Alpha, never has. It runs on PA-RISC and Itanium.

If you know nothing about unix, what makes you so interested in HP-UX?? Seems like Linux or FreeBSD would be a better starting place as that runs on commodity consumer pc hardware, plus it's *far* more user friendly for a beginner.

PA-RISC is indeed on its way out, Itanium is the new flavor of the day. That said, you can find some pretty nice PA-RISC machines for cheap. Like an rp4440 with dual 1Ghz processors and a couple gigs of ram. Mind you this is a noisy 4U rackmount server that weighs ~80 lbs or so. IIRC it requires 220v power too. Not something you'll want running in your living room. PA-RISC workstations do exist, although I can't comment on those. I work on large HP-UX servers for a living (rx7000, rx8000, and superdome) so to me it's not all that exciting, just another day at work. :wink: