HP-UX Full System Backup with fbackup

Hello,

I'm still new in HP-UX backup and I want to do a FULL BACKUP of HP-UX server to TAPE device. After reading on several forums and posts, i have list down several steps on how to do a full backup on HP-UX with fbackup. I would like the gurus here to comment/advise on the steps below

1) Insert tape

2) mount tape with command below. This command will mount the tape device and automatically rewind

3) To speed up the backup to tape process, use the configuration file below:

4) Then run fbackup with command:

5) Have a jug of coffee to drink until the backup process finish :smiley:

So now, i have several questions in mind:

1) Is there any error if i do a backup on "/" while system is running ? Maybe permission error. If yes, how can i make a backup on "/" ?

2) If the whole data , let say 35GB, and the tape capacity only, let say 20GB, can i continue the backup to 2nd tape ? . Is there another command or just put another tape after the 1st tape ejected ? Any advice ?

Thanks in advance.

If fbackup isnt a bad tool, it will not replace a real backup/restore utility such as omniback, TSM, netbackup etc...
Nevertheless in older days (HPUX8 and 9) I only had fbackup...
As an admin I will always separate the system and the rest on all boxes I install:
vg00 is purely OS and OS related (users, OS software e.g. Java etc...) the rest in other vg groups and preferably on external disks.
I will therefore backup the system (entire vg00) with Ignite (make_recovery, make_tape_recovery ,etc...).
the rest with the backup software (or fbackup...).

At the time fbackup used to ask for the next tape... but if not changed but pressed <enter> it would continue on your system disk... In other words you would have to be present...
I suppose things have changed since...

vbe is right. "fbackup" is not enough.