How to loop command over folders in a directory?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to scripting so please bear with me. I will try to explain as best as I can but if there's anything that is not clear, please let me know.

I have a directory (see below) with numerous folders and within each of those folders are various files. I would like to run a script that will go into each folder and then select the specified files and then repeat this process for all the folders that are in a given directory. Here is an example of how the path is set up:

The folders contain multiple files with various extensions. I would like the script to go into random#1 folder, look for the specified files, execute the command, and then move onto random#2 folder and do the same.

Inside each folder are the following files:

I have the following script that only works on one specific type of file inside each folder but I need to write a new one that works on specified files (above) located inside each folder in the directory.

How can I make it so that I can replace the above to make a list of all the folders and then run a script that goes inside each folder and looks for the specified files?

Basically, I need the script to go into the directory, into the subdirectory, into the folders, and look for specified files in those folders. And repeat for every folder there is.

I have exhausted all options of self-teaching/experimenting to figure this out on my own and therefore, I'm hoping I can find some solution here.

Thank you in advance.

Let us start with a description of your environment:

• which OS are you using (and which version of it)
  • which shell are you using (and, maybe, which version of it)

the answers to these questions may well influence the final solution to your problem.

Now, the general solution to your problem is the find -command: basically it produces a list of files, which (see the -exec -clause) then can be subjected to some command. For a (short) introduction see here